Alaska Cost of Care
What long-term care actually costs in Alaska in 2025–2026 — nursing facility care, memory care, assisted living, independent living, home health care, and Lifecare/CCRC — sourced from the CareScout 2025 Cost of Care Survey and the A Place for Mom 2026 report.
State financial aid available for Alaska cost of care
- Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) Waiver·Contact Senior and Disabilities Services Central Application Processing
- General Relief Assisted Living Home Program·Submit Form GR-01
Estimated $109.32/day, if qualified. Cash payment / stipend amount (figure source)Total daily rate paid to the assisted living home (participant cost share plus program share), effective July 1, 2024; the participant retains a $200/month personal needs allowance.
- Senior In-Home Services Grants·Contact Senior and Disabilities Services
* Medicare, Medicaid Eligibility Limits & Requirements
- Medicare — Nursing Facility: Requires a qualifying inpatient hospital stay of at least 3 days AND a doctor-certified daily need for skilled nursing or rehabilitation care. Medicare does not pay for custodial-only nursing home stays, and coverage ends entirely after 100 days per benefit period.
- Medicare — Home Health Care: Requires the patient to be doctor-certified as “homebound” and to need intermittent skilled nursing or therapy from a Medicare-certified home health agency. Ongoing non-skilled custodial help (bathing, meals, housekeeping) alone does not qualify.
- Medicaid — all care types: Requires meeting Alaska's own Medicaid income and asset limits plus a functional (level-of-care) need determination. Nursing facility Medicaid is an entitlement once eligible; assisted living, memory care, and home health Medicaid coverage is typically delivered through a Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver, which can carry its own enrollment cap and waiting list.
Assisted living and memory care have no Medicare eligibility pathway to list here — see the estimated percentage of cost each program pays in the table below.
What Medicare, Medicaid & State Aid Pay
Medicare's rules are federally uniform and identical in every state. Alaska's Medicaid program sets its own nursing-facility rate and Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver coverage, which can differ sharply from other states. The figures below are what each program pays once a resident meets every eligibility requirement for that program (marked with an asterisk) — not Alaska's full cost of care shown elsewhere on this page.
| Care Type | Medicare Pays* | Alaska Medicaid Pays* | State Financial Assistance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing Facility | Days 1–20: $0 — Days 21–100: pay $217/day — Day 101+: $0 paid * Estimated ~27% of Alaska's $333,975/year cost (100 of 365 days) — a days-covered ceiling; the actual dollar share is lower once the day 21–100 coinsurance is subtracted. | Estimated $553.56–$1,715.20/day (effective 1/1/2026) * Alaska Medicaid freestanding nursing facility per diems. (source) |
Eligibility and covered settings vary by program — may not apply to every care type at left. See this state's full financial-aid summary above for details. |
| Assisted Living | $0 toward room, board, or personal care Estimated 0% of Alaska's $7,000/month cost — Medicare pays none of the residency. | Estimated $223.38–$223.96/day (+ acuity add-on $493.66/day for 1:1/2:1 staffing) * Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) 1915(c) waiver, Residential Supported Living. (source) |
Eligibility and covered settings vary by program — may not apply to every care type at left. See this state's full financial-aid summary above for details. |
| Memory Care | $0 toward room, board, or custodial dementia care Estimated 0% — Medicare pays none of the residency. (Alaska's monthly figure is not reported in the source data.) | $0 — not covered by Medicaid in this state No memory-care-specific rate; high-acuity dementia care would be paid via the RSL acuity add-on. (source) |
Eligibility and covered settings vary by program — may not apply to every care type at left. See this state's full financial-aid summary above for details. |
| Home Health Care | $0 for covered skilled home health visits * | Covered * — no statewide dollar figure published Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) waiver; no published personal-care hourly figure. (source) |
Eligibility and covered settings vary by program — may not apply to every care type at left. See this state's full financial-aid summary above for details. |
Nursing Facility Care
Annual cost of skilled nursing / nursing home care in Alaska, per CareScout's 2025 survey.
| Room Type | Alaska (Annual) | National Median (Annual) |
|---|---|---|
| Semi-Private Room | $333,975 | $114,975 |
| Private Room | Not reported in the source data | $129,575 |
Assisted Living
Assisted living pricing varies not just by state but by level of supportive care (a private studio with minimal help vs. a shared room with daily medication management and mobility assistance), and no state-level public survey breaks pricing out by care level — individual facility quotes do that, and vary by provider. What the two national surveys below do capture consistently is the difference between a facility's list rate and what residents in Alaska actually paid on move-in in 2025.
| Methodology | Alaska (Annual) | National Median (Annual) |
|---|---|---|
| CareScout facility rate | $118,578 | $74,400 |
| Methodology | Alaska (Monthly) | National Median (Monthly) |
|---|---|---|
| APFM move-in-based median | $7,000/mo (≈ $84,000/yr equivalent) | $5,419/mo |
Memory Care
Dedicated memory care (dementia/Alzheimer's-specific) monthly median, Alaska vs. national, per A Place for Mom's 2026 report (2025 move-in data).
| Care Type | Alaska (Monthly) | National Median (Monthly) |
|---|---|---|
| Memory care (APFM 2025 median) | Not reported in the source data | $6,690/mo |
Independent Living
Independent living communities provide housing, meals, and activities with little or no hands-on care. Monthly median, Alaska vs. national.
| Care Type | Alaska (Monthly) | National Median (Monthly) |
|---|---|---|
| Independent living (APFM 2025 median) | Not reported in the source data | $3,200/mo |
Home Health Care: Professional vs. Personal Care
"Personal" (non-medical) caregivers help with bathing, dressing, meals, and companionship. "Professional" home care — a private-duty licensed nurse — costs substantially more and covers skilled medical tasks. Both are shown below at CareScout's 2025 annualized rate for a typical weekly schedule, alongside A Place for Mom's blended hourly starting rate.
| Care Type | Alaska (Annual) | National Median (Annual) |
|---|---|---|
| Personal / non-medical caregiver (CareScout, annual) | $86,944 | $80,080 |
| Professional / private-duty nurse (CareScout, annual) | Not reported in the source data | $4,680 |
| Rate | Alaska | National |
|---|---|---|
| Blended home care starting rate (APFM, hourly) | $38/hr | $34/hr |
Related: Adult Day Health Care
A lower-cost daytime alternative to in-home or residential care, typically used to supplement family caregiving.
| Care Type | Alaska (Annual) | National Median (Annual) |
|---|---|---|
| Adult day health care (CareScout, annual) | $45,500 | $24,700 |
Lifecare & Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRC)
A Continuing Care Retirement Community (also called a Life Care community) is a single campus offering independent living, assisted living, and nursing care, designed so a resident can move between levels of care as needs change without having to move to a different community. Most CCRCs are funded through a large upfront entrance fee plus an ongoing monthly fee — not Medicare, Medicaid, or long-term care insurance directly, although insurance and VA benefits can help offset the monthly fee once a resident needs a higher level of care.
National entrance-fee & monthly-fee figures
CCRC entrance fees and monthly fees are not published on a state-by-state basis by any survey we could verify — contract type, unit size, and specific community matter far more than which state a CCRC is in. The figures below are national, not Alaska-specific, and are shown alongside Alaska's own CCRC regulatory framework, which is state-specific.
CCRCs (also called Life Care communities) charge a large upfront entrance fee plus an ongoing monthly fee, in exchange for guaranteed access to a continuum of care — independent living through nursing care — often at little or no increase in monthly cost as a resident's needs increase. No single national number captures this well, since the fee depends heavily on contract type, unit size, and location. Two dated snapshots below show the structure and the current market average; neither is a state-specific figure, since entrance-fee data is not broken out by state in either source.
| Contract Type | Reported Entrance-Fee Range | What's Included |
|---|---|---|
| Type A — Life Care / Extensive | $160,000–$600,000 | Housing, residential services, amenities, and unlimited use of health care services as residents move from independent living to assisted living or nursing care, at little or no increase in monthly fees. |
| Type B — Modified | $80,000–$750,000 | Same housing and residential amenities as Type A, but only some health care services are included in the initial monthly fee; additional care can be charged at market or discounted rates. |
| Type C — Fee-for-Service | $100,000–$500,000 | Same housing, residential services, and amenities as Types A and B, but residents pay market rates for health-related services as needed. |
| Type D — Rental | $1,800–$30,000 | Generally requires no large entrance fee; guarantees access to CCRC services and health care on an essentially pay-as-you-go basis. |
| Figure | National Average | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Average entrance fee (entrance-fee model) | $300,000 | Typical range $50,000–$500,000, higher in high-cost urban areas |
| Average monthly fee — entrance-fee model | $4,166 | Independent-living level, asking rate |
| Average monthly fee — rental model | $3,747 | Independent-living level, asking rate; rental CCRCs run higher than entrance-fee CCRCs at the assisted living, memory care, and nursing care levels |
Alaska's CCRC regulatory framework
Alaska has no CCRC-specific statute identified in this research; the closest applicable oversight is: No CCRC-specific statute identified; oversight likely falls under general health facility/assisted living licensing by the Alaska Department of Health (Residential Licensing Unit, Division of Health Care Services).
The February 2026 50-state survey of CCRC laws reports no CCRC-specific statute for Alaska. Residential senior housing with care is instead licensed by the Alaska Department of Health's Residential Licensing Unit, which licenses assisted living homes, reviews applications, conducts an onsite inspection before licensure and inspects licensed homes annually; separate Health Care Facility/Long Term Care licensing covers nursing facilities. No Alaska entrance-fee escrow, reserve or continuing-care disclosure-statement requirement could be verified.
- https://bpb-us-e1.wpmucdn.com/sites.psu.edu/dist/6/17176/files/2026/02/Pearson-Warren-Survey-of-CCRC-Laws-FINAL-PDF-2.1.2026-002.pdf
- https://health.alaska.gov/en/division-of-health-care-services/residential-licensing/
- https://health.alaska.gov/en/services/assisted-living-licensing-and-renewals/
A Hypothetical Alaska Case Study
Meet Walter, a 76-year-old retired accountant in Alaska. This is a hypothetical scenario built entirely from Alaska's own 2025–2026 cost-of-care figures on this page, used to illustrate how a family's financial exposure can grow as care needs progress — it does not describe a real individual. At 76, Walter began showing behavioral changes that led to a dementia diagnosis sooner than the family expected, related to dementia with prominent early behavioral and personality changes. Over the years that followed, his care needs moved through 3 stages:
-
In-home personal careA part-time personal caregiver came in to help with bathing, meals, and medication reminders.$86,944/year × 3 yr = $260,832
-
Assisted livingFalls at home and a hospitalization made round-the-clock supervision necessary.$84,000/year × 4 yr = $336,000
-
Memory careProgressing cognitive decline required a secured memory-care unit.$80,280/year (national figure used; a state-specific figure wasn't available in the source data) × 1 yr = $80,280
Illustrative total cost of care across 8 years (ages 76–84), computed directly from the Alaska figures shown elsewhere on this page. Actual costs depend on the specific provider, level of care, and region within Alaska.
If the family's income and assets fell within program limits, Alaska's Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) Waiver and/or General Relief Assisted Living Home Program and Senior In-Home Services Grants could have offset some of the community-based or residential-care costs above — see the financial-aid summary at the top of this page for eligibility details and how to apply.
This case study is a hypothetical illustration created for educational purposes only. It does not describe any real person, and it is not a prediction, guarantee, or professional recommendation about any individual's future care needs, costs, or eligibility for financial assistance. Care progression, duration, and provider pricing vary widely by individual circumstances. Consult a qualified elder-law attorney, financial advisor, or benefits counselor for guidance specific to your situation.
Sources for this page
- CareScout, 2025 Cost of Care Survey (state release) — Alaska
- A Place for Mom, Cost of Long-Term Care & Senior Living Report (2026 edition; 2025 move-in data)
- Alaska CCRC regulatory source
- Alaska CCRC regulatory source
- Alaska CCRC regulatory source
- U.S. Government Accountability Office, GAO-10-611, “Older Americans: Continuing Care Retirement Communities Can Provide Benefits, but Not Without Some Risk” (June 2010; reports 2009 fee data collected from eight selected CCRCs)
- National Investment Center for Seniors Housing & Care (NIC) data, as reported by Where You Live Matters (end-of-2024 figures)
Know the cost. Now find the funding.
Twelve questions. About four minutes. A shortlist of funding strategies ranked for your family's situation in Alaska.